Loading Events

Event Navigation

  • This event has passed.

Symphony 1.


Beethoven evening with János Kovács

Leonore Overture No.3 op.72b
Symphony No. 2 in D Major op.36
Two romances in F Major and in G Major
Symphony No.8 in F Major op.93

Soloist: Lóránt Bozsodi- Violinist

Conductor: János Kovács

In 2020, the music world will commemorate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827). It is not surprising, then, that the opening performance of our season ticket series also pays homage to the genius of the German master. First, the III. A Leonora overture is sounded in 1806 for the composer’s only opera, Fidelio, at the crossroads of classics and romance. During the long and struggling work process of Fidelio, three overtures were made, of which the III. Leonora’s overture is the most solved composition: its dramaturgy leading from light to light and its instruments and characters, which can be easily interpreted without knowledge of the operatic act, inaugurate it as a concert piece in blood. His contemporaries were not thrilled with the work. Some objected to dense modulation, while others spoke out against the use of aural solutions, including the trumpet signal. Completed in 1802, II. symphony was born at perhaps the most tragic stage of Beethoven’s life: around this time a drastic deterioration in his hearing became apparent. As a result, he wrote a Heiligenstadt will addressed to his nominal brothers, but actually intended for all mankind. A II. the music of the symphony refutes all gloomy circumstances: it is full of energy and unconditional joy of life. Written ten years later, VIII. in the symphony we can find traces of respect for the Haydn-Mozart symphonic tradition. It is characteristic of his gestures of the past that instead of the third movement of the work, instead of the scherzo introduced by Beethoven, we find again the minuet customary in classics, the ironic overtones of which have been brought to the attention of musicology from an early age. Overall, the composition is about a farewell to the traditional symphony, and indeed: Beethoven’s next symphony, The Ninth, marks the dawn of a new age. Between the two symphonies, representing the more intimate genre, Beethoven’s two romances, written for violin and orchestra, will be performed with a solo by the orchestra’s concertmasters.


3500 Ft


Date: 2020-09-24

Time: 19:00-21:00

Cost: 3500 Ft

Event Category:


Savaria Symphony Orchestra

Phone: +36 (94) 314 472

Email: info@sso.hu

Website: www.sso.hu


Bartók Hall

Rakóczi Street 3.
Szombathely, Vas megye 9700 Magyarország

+ Google Map

Phone: +3694314472