Loading Events

Event Navigation

Symphony 10.

June 4.


Bartók: Two pictures
Debussy: Nocturnes
Brahms: Symphony No. 1

Conductor:  János Kovács

Béla Bartók’s Two Paintings, Flowering and The Village Dance, composed in 1910, depicts the image of nature and the fun of people with exciting tools. The sound world of the composition eloquently reflects the inspiration gained from the Debussy works known to Bartók. The size of the band is larger than usual, the winds are used in pairs by the composer, and five of the trumpets are used. The pentatonics and ostinatoes of the first movement evoke the solutions of Debussy’s music the most. Although the whole-tone scale also appears in the second movement, its atmosphere is still in contrast to the previous one, as the Hungarian folk melody world already plays an important role here. Debussy also bears the influence of the visual arts in the titleing of many of his works, such as Arabesques, Images, or Estampes, and Nocturnes, composed in 1901, also belongs to this group. Of his three movements (Clouds, Holidays, Sirens), only the first two were performed several times in Debussy’s life. One reason for this is the apparatus, as in the closing piece the orchestra is joined by a female arm, blending into the orchestral sound with its vocal-free vocals. The final number of the concert will be the first symphony of Johannes Brahms (1833–1897), a composition sometimes referred to as Beethoven’s Tenth. The four-movement work was completed by Brahms in 1876, but his design had preoccupied the composer a decade earlier — no less than the depressing shadow of Beethoven’s symphonic legacy contributed to the difficult and protracted compositional process. This legacy can be seen in action at several points: such as the musical process from C minor to C major, the dramaturgy of which may be familiar from Beethoven’s V Symphony. Beethoven is also evoked by the slow introductions of the opening and closing movement. One of the melodies of the finale is strikingly similar to Pleasure – Brahms himself openly accepted the fact of allusion. The movement seems to speak of the same thing as Beethoven IX. the final movement of his symphony, but while the vocals also sounded there, Brahms merely restates his words instrumentally.

3500 Ft


Date: June 4.

Time: 19:00-22:00

Cost: 3500 Ft

Event Category:

Website: sso.hu


Savaria Symphony Orchestra

Phone: +36 (94) 314 472

Email: info@sso.hu

Website: www.sso.hu


Bartók Hall

Rakóczi Street 3.
Szombathely, Vas megye 9700 Magyarország

+ Google Map

Phone: +36 94 314472