• This event has passed.

Symphony-Autumn 5.

January 21.

Respighi, Brahms, Muszorgszkij-Ravel

Respighi: The well of Rome
Brahms: Violin Competition
Mussorgsky-Ravel: Pictures from an exhibition

Conductor: Leonardo Sini

Ottorino Respighi’s (1879-1936) symphonic poem The Fountains of Rome, the first piece of the “Roman triptych”. In 1916 he wrote one of the important works of musical impressionism, the completion of which was also advocated by Toscanini. The author writes of his theorems as follows: 1. The first part of the poem, the well of the Valle Giulia, at dawn.2. An unexpected horn over the band’s trills introduces the second part, the Triton Well. 3. A solemn theme sounds in the band. This is the Trevi Fountain, bright
at noon. 4. Villa Medici’s fountain at dusk. This is the longing hour of the sunset. The air is full of bells, chirping of birds, rustling of foliage. Then everything slowly calms down in the silence of the night.Johannes Brahms (1806-1872) composed his only violin concerto for Joachim József, one of the greatest violinists of the 19th century. The work was created in 1878 in Pörtschach near Lake Wörth, and premiered on New Year’s Day 1879 in Leipzig, under the direction of the author, Joachim’s solo. The focus of the three-part Violin Competition in its final form is a moderately fast-paced, sonata-shaped opening movement, which accounts for about half of the total volume, followed by the poetic Adagio, one of the most famous oboe solos in music literature, and a lighter, dancer (1839-1881) is the most famous piano cycle of a Russian composer. The piece was written in 1874 under the influence of a posthumous exhibition by his architect-painter friend Viktor Hartmann, who died the previous year. The pictures and sketches evoked wonderfully colorful formulations of Mussorgsky ‘s human life and psyche, the imaginary world of the people – in a characteristic way. The images in the One Exhibition can be considered as a sample of the program music, which the Russian music critic,
Dedicated to Vladimir Stasov. The style of the composition, the principle of cycling different pieces of character, bears traces of the influence of Robert Schumann. Nevertheless, the work is typically Russian. The orchestral orchestration praises Maurice Ravel’s talent, and in this adaptation the work has become one of the most successful pieces in the symphonic repertoire.

3500 Ft


Date: January 21.

Time: 19:00-21:00

Cost: 3500 Ft

Event Category:


Savaria Symphony Orchestra

Phone: +36 (94) 314 472

Email: info@sso.hu

Website: www.sso.hu


Bartók Hall

Rakóczi Street 3.
Szombathely, Vas megye 9700 Magyarország

+ Google Map

Phone: +3694314472