• This event has passed.

Symphony Spring 1.

February 18.

Copland, Ravel, Csajkovszkij-Ellington

Copland: El salon Mexico
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major
Ravel: Spanish rhapsody
Tchaikovsky-Ellington: Nutcracker Suite

Conductor: Gergely Vajda

The El Salón México one-movement symphonic composition was completed in 1936 by Aaron Copland (1900-1990). The author
he visited Mexico several times in the 1930s, and the title of the piece also refers to a local landmark, a well-known nightclub in Mexico City. According to Copland’s autobiography, there were three halls in this place: one for the upper classes, one for the workers, one for the barefoot peasants. The music makes it almost perceptible as we move from one room to another, alternating between musical styles. One of the favorite composers of the French is Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), an artist with Basque roots who also reflects Spanish colors and rhythms in his music. The first movement of his 3-movement piano concerto in G major, made between 1929 and 1931, is enriched by Mozart, Saint-Saëns and jazz influences, his slow movement is inspired by Chopin in many respects, and the last movement reflects the glamor and virtuosity of the author. Ravel said he didn’t aim to be in-depth in this piece,
but to entertain, in his own way.The Spanish Rhapsody, composed in 1907–1908, is Ravel’s first large-scale orchestral work. During these years, several Spanish-themed works emerged from his workshop. The first movement of the piece
Prélude à la nuit articulates the exciting nesting of the sounds of the night. The second and third movement is dance,
Malagueña and Habanera. The finale is elevated, music in C major that incorporates the atmosphere of the holiday (Feria).
If we can talk about evergreens in connection with classical music, Tchaikovsky’s ballet presented in 1892
his music, The Nutcracker, is certainly one of them. Duke Ellington’s legendary rich and long career
on his second zenith, in 1960, he published a brilliant jazz remake of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, which he co-created with his permanent co-creator, Billy Strayhorn.

3500 Ft


Date: February 18.

Time: 19:00-21:30

Cost: 3500 Ft

Event Category:


Savaria Symphony Orchestra

Phone: +36 (94) 314 472

Email: info@sso.hu

Website: www.sso.hu


Bartók Hall

Rakóczi Street 3.
Szombathely, Vas megye 9700 Magyarország

+ Google Map

Phone: +3694314472